SeekingSanity

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
54
Location:
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

I am recovering from living a “normal” life of 30+ years. I started the process last year when I bought and moved aboard my Pacific Seacraft 34 (she chose me). This year I'm focusing on some TLC that she needs while poking around the Salish. Time to build some friendships, improve my skills, and maybe even find a partner who desires such a lifestyle. Once my sailing skills have improved enough, I fancy wandering down to the South Pacific. But, nothing is written in stone.

I have had an inexplicable and enduring love for water, boats, and exploration since my earliest memories that I intend to fully embrace from now on. I'm a quiet, laid-back, compassionate guy who finds the humor in most things and tends to see the world in shades of gray rather than black and white.

I don't need to win to have fun. I don't need to be right to placate my ego. I don't need to be in control to be at ease. And, I don't need to be in a relationship to be happy. However, I would like to be in a relationship. A healthy partnership as co-captain of a shared life in pursuit of experiences worthy of reliving through memory when the time to draw my last breath nears. If such a thing is possible. And ice cream. Lots of ice cream.

“Not all those who wander are lost.”

Sailing Experience:

Boarded my first sailboat in 2001 and instantly fell passionately in love with sailing. For the next two years I crewed on that 30 footer and other boats for weekly club races, some random races I don't remember, and a Swiftsure. I took every opportunity to spend time on a sailboat I could find. My career and life then led me away from the coast until last year. During that time I obtained bareboat charter certification and used it several times for summer vacations in the San Juans. I also owned a Schock 23 for several years that I sailed and raced on a reservoir in South Dakota, of all places.

So I've not yet soaked up a lot of salt in my blood but it is definitely in my heart.

Sailing Qualifications:

Basic Keelboat Sailing. Basic Coastal Sailing. Bareboat Chartering (Intermediate Coastal Cruising). All with the ASA.

Nautical Miles Logged:
Time to start keeping track, eh?
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Currently, avoiding any more occupations. Previously, a mid-level manager in the national parks system.
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Better in small groups 
Appearance
Body type:
Average 
Height:
6'0" - 6'3" (181 - 190cm) 
Eyes:
Hazel 
Hair:
Blonde