freediver

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
45
Location:
Sankt Georgen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Here for:
Dating, Friendship 
About Me:

Where to start, really... Done and seen so many things already.
Are you in for a little read?

Hard facts: born and raised in Hamburg, hold a degree in architecture, self employed most of my work life and probably totally useless as an employee by now... ;-) Oh, never worked as an architect, but as a sales person or log builder.

I guess, I have this travel bug or gipsy thing inside of me and I think it all started when I travelled to Canada at age 20 to buy a bicycle and take a little tour of well over 4000 klicks in British Columbia and Alberta. I never thought I'd return many years later to live in B.C. for almost one and a half years.

Really about me?
There is this huge inner child I nourish - I am silly at times and don't care about jumping in puddles. :-). 45 years? Hahahaha. - My bones sometimes confirm, though. :-D
Curious - I always have to look what's underneath that stone or where the little alley leads. Adventurous, creative, imaginative, communicative and taciturn. I'm a rational/intellectual person but can get very emotional, too. Sometimes shy, sometimes outgoing. A craftsman, writer, thinker, sportive, lazy. There's an ironic side in me that I found some people don't understand. And I love stories. Both telling and hearing them. Just look at this text. :-)
I am an active person, anything like bouldering, swimming, inline skating, I used to play squash and beach volleyball. I discovered Yoga for me and my soul half a year ago. Something that's never missing anywhere I go is my bicycle. The one I bought in Canada.
I am in for a lot of nonsense, but need people around me that are able to converse on an intellectuaI level, too. Some things I absolutely don't take seriously, others are important, like respect.
Oh, yes, and I love good food and cooking, for myself and others.

I was always close to water, loved swimming from young age on. Discovered scuba diving only about ten years ago and freediving a few years later, I hope to get my instructors license this year.
Staying in one place over an extended period of time makes me feel uneasy after a while, even though I like it very much when you step into a shop and people remember you and possibly your name. Still, I need to get going and see new stuff, move.
I like to have my own place, though, where I can read a book or sip on my tea or espresso. So I thought, I'd need a home to take with me. Not having a single idea of boat building or even sailing I started to build my first little wooden 14 foot Wharram catamaran in 2014. It was finished by 2016 and I now work on a NARAI MK IV, a 41 ft Wharram cat, big enough to sail anywhere on the globe.
It sits on the hard in Rovinj, Croatia, and I like the idea of calling it my home for the summer months. The two hulls are built and I am able to "live" inside, yet, it is not afloat and still needs a lot of work.

Why am I here? Quote (guess of whom and you know one of my favorite books and movies): "I am looking for someone to share in an adventure." That would be: building a boat, living on a boat, freediving and sailing on a boat and circumnavigate (at least once... :-D), exploring, supporting environmental, marine or social projects on the way. My list of places and things is looooong.

As is this description of me (and still too short)... :-D I am sorry. No, I'm not. It's just me.

Sailing Experience:

Adriatic, Solent, Canary Islands, delivery from Sardinia to Athens...
Skippered five or so trips myself on 37 to 46ft monohulls.

Sailing Qualifications:

German boating license, RYA Day Skipper, currently studying for the RYA Yachtmaster Coastal.

Nautical Miles Logged:
2000?
Occupation:
Log builder
Home and family
Marital status:
Single / never married 
Have Children:
No 
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Rarely 
Appearance
Body type:
Athletic 
Height:
5'8" - 5'11" (171 - 180cm) 
Eyes:
Brown 
Hair:
Blonde 
Recent activity
User
OceanSoul and freediver are now friends.
User
freediver added 5 pictures to the album HITIA 14:
User
freediver has just signed up. Say hello!