DownwindSeeker

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
61
Location:
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Here for:
Dating 
About Me:

I am new to online meeting sites so please bare with me. Hang on; do I use the word bear, or bare, in that sentence? The latter seems more fun so let's go with "bare" : )
The same way "SMILING" is Buddy the Elf's favourite... FUN is my favourite. I enjoy laughing and having fun with everything I do. I am easy going, I love family, and I enjoy sharing unique experiences with family and friends (like cruising).
I raised my daughter on my own, which says something about the kind of man I am; dependable, honest, responsible, and open-minded. I am old fashioned in some ways. Some say I am like a dad of the job sites I run - always looking out for others.
I am easy to talk with, a good listener, and a great conversationalist, honest, patient, and dedicated. I enjoy learning about life, how to better myself and enhance my understanding and awareness, including spiritual awareness, but I am not religious.
I like to open doors, buy flowers, and treat a lady with respect, which almost seems "old fashion" these days.
I find; Love is quite simple - it is ceaseless thinking and self-serving expectations that complicate relationships. Thankfully, children remind us of this every day.
I build bridges for a living and supervise crews of rugged men so I can come across as an alpha, but the truth is; I have a soft underbelly, a big heart, and I would love nothing more than to share it with a kind, warm-hearted lady, who has a tender caring touch and is genuinely there for me (as I am for her), who aspires to share a similar dream of cruising in the future.
I swapped the sea yacht for a land yacht for a few years. It is presently parked in Mexico, waiting for Covid to wind down.
I have scuba dived and sailed many places in the world, and I enjoy exploring and hiking mountains and deserts, but I feel most at home, on or beside the sea.
Music: Xavier Rudd, Jack Johnson, Donnovan Woods, Ben Harper, Dave Mathews Band, Bob Marley, David Grey, Cat Stevens, and similar. I enjoy "unplugged versions" because I play guitar, and classics like Fleetwood Mac, Eagles, Doobies, Van Morrison, Jimmy Buffet... and many Latin songs.
Potential plan for the future:
- work on this bridge project and invest for a few years, till Covid winds down
- meet a special lady who loves the idea of cruising and exploring many beautiful destinations in the future
- purchase a large sailing catamaran
- learn how to dance those fun Latin style dances (I have always wanted to)
- start exploring the Caribbean and make our way to Mexico, South America, South Pacific, Australia, and more, flying home to visit family in off-seasons
- later, sell the cat and have a Summer home near Vancouver, but spend Winter in a warm location like Hawaii, Mexico or ?
I have noticed; cruisers meet amazing people from all over the world so who knows where a trip like this can lead.
If this sounds like an appealing plan (open to revision) please drop me a note. I look forward to learning all about you. If not; thank you for viewing my profile and best wishes for your dreams.
: )

Sailing Experience:

I have been trained to sail around the world and have enjoyed 12 years of racing (my favourites are helming, starts, and tactician). I crewed on a massive live-aboard catamaran in Australia, 250nm offshore for months, exploring the reefs of the Coral Sea. I have owned 3 vessels and plan to buy a 12m to 14m (38ft to 45ft) sailing catamaran to explore the Caribbean, and then onward to other ports.

Sailing Qualifications:

ASA 101 thru Coastal Navigation, and every offshore course offered by Bluewater Cruising Association: Celestial Navigation, SSB Radio Ticket, Meteorology, Heavy Weather Sailing, Open Ocean Crossings, the FLEET program, Boat Repair, Engines, Electronics, Sailmaking, Emergency Medical, and always looking to learn more.

Nautical Miles Logged:
18,000 (3000 open ocean)
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Bridge Construction Superintendent
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Rarely 
Social Setting:
Better in small groups, Comic relief 
Appearance
Body type:
Average 
Height:
6'0" - 6'3" (181 - 190cm) 
Eyes:
Hazel 
Hair:
Distant Memory! 
Recent activity
User
Leeannstar and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
Salsasand and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
justPatty and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
DownwindSeeker and JenniferM are now friends.
User
LadyoftheSea and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
sidekick and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
qe3philly and DownwindSeeker are now friends.
User
DownwindSeeker and Kat2Sail are now friends.
User
DownwindSeeker uploaded a new profile picture:
User
User
DownwindSeeker has just signed up. Say hello!