Laurence

Profile Information
Gender:
Woman 
Age:
45
Location:
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

Short version: Happy (part time) mom of (virtual) high schoolers. Love my job, very fulfilling. Very outdoorsy, love to travel and love anything related to water: boating, swimming, diving, rafting... I also enjoy hiking and biking with friends while discovering new places, countries and cultures.

Long version: I am a mother of 3 teenagers (boy/girl twins and another girl) so life is never boring :) I work on Malaria vaccine development, leading teams to conduct clinical trials, in the US and around the world, mainly Africa. I very much enjoy the mission and find fulfillment in making a difference in people's life. I managed to create a very good work/life balance which gives me quality time with my kids and time to see friends. Although being divorced is never easy, I have found one positive side: I now have some time for myself and I can do the things that I really enjoy in life. And I love being on the water. Few hours spent on the water are a break from life. Simple and peaceful. I am much more about experiences than material possession and I am not waiting to be retired to enjoy. I try to take any opportunity I have to travel (domestically or internationally) and I love the fact that COVID brought me back to simple pleasures. I am amazed to discover how much the Washington D.C. area has to offer, only short driving distance away!

Sailing Experience:

I was born and raised in Wimereux, North of France and every summer, my family would spend our vacation on warmer climate on the Mediterranean sea. After years of going to the same place every summer and taking day trips with the boat to the same beaches, my mom wanted to discover new places and my dad wanted to continue boating so they compromised! And when I was about 8 years old, we started spending our family vacation on a boat, going from harbor to harbor or spending the night anchored in coves
I grew up with power boats and discovered sailing in my 20's but was never able to sail much once I loved to the US. I did continue to boat but mainly power boat. I recently decided to take sailing classes as a refresher and I am ready to put it all into practice!

Sailing Qualifications:

Does living on a boat for weeks at a time qualify? :)
I have French licenses for sea water and river, and took ASA 101 and 103 summer 2020

Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - at home part-time 
Occupation:
Vaccine development
Lifestyle
Drinking:
Socially 
Appearance
Body type:
Athletic 
Height:
5'8" - 5'11" (171 - 180cm) 
Recent activity
User
DavidBlueWater and Laurence are now friends.
User
Laurence has just signed up. Say hello!