MarisaB

Profile Information
Gender:
Woman 
Age:
60
Location:
Saint Simons Island, Georgia, United States
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

After two years of traveling, I got stranded in Australia due to the pandemic. But I certainly am not complaining. I had started in Egypt and worked my way country-by-country to South Korea then zig-zagged south heading to Australia and New Zealand. Due to the pandemic I was unable to finish my dream travel extravaganza by going to Paupa New Guinea and then I was looking for sailing opportunities in Fiji and Vanuatu which would hopefully sail me to Bora Bora and Tahiti. That was my dream to end the trip there. Let's hope there is a next time. I was born on Hilton Head Island South Carolina and spent most of my adult life in the Los Angeles area and a few years on the east coast of Florida. I love sailing and any activity on the ocean--swimming, windsurfing, SUP, Scuba,etc. I have been fortunate to travel to all continents. Put Antarctica on your bucket list. What an amazing place. I love adventure, trying and learning new things. I enjoy reading, music, dancing, cooking and of course eating.

I am easy-going and play well with others. I volunteered recently for the Sydney to Hobart race which was an amazing experience. I also love photography and meeting indigenous cultures. During my travels I always made sure I spent a few weeks living with some of the minority peoples all over Asia and Oceana. While I have no children I have had many foster kids, many of them are native peoples of America, especially Navajo. I have been fortunate to learn about their culture and go to the reservation as much as possible.

I recently arrived back in the US and I'm spending the next few months visiting family on St Simons Island in southern Georgia. I am regrouping for my next adventure which will be heading back to Los Angeles. Then I am planning my next sailing/traveling adventure. I have some sailing experience on monohulls and sailed about 2 weeks on a catamaran. I worked occasionally during my long travels on sailboats taking tourist out for the day or for several days.

In Sydney I volunteered with South Passage, a non-profit that teaches high school kids sailing without technology. Imagine a boat with twenty or more kids for three days. It was actually great fun. Anyone can volunteer so if in Sydney (they also spend part of the year in Brisbane) help introduce kids to sailing.

I have done some racing but prefer not having to get there as quickly as possible.

I don't like cold weather so anyone needing crew without needing to lookout for icebergs let me know!

Sailing Experience:

I have boating experience, including power boats but as a moderately experienced sailor, I want to devote more time to becoming a great sailor. I have many certificates from the American Sailing Association, the US Power Squadron and am working on more hands-on experience. I have crewed on monohulls and cats and am willing to do any job to gain the experience. While in this part of the world I want to explore as much as I can via sailing.

Sailing Qualifications:

ASA Sailing 101, ASA Basic Keelboat Sailing, Bareboat Cruising (ASA), ASA Catamaran, US Power Squadron courses: America's Boating; Sail; Cruising & Planning
Boating Safety and CPR

Nautical Miles Logged:
5,000
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Occupation:
former crime analyst, now mystery novelist
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Social butterfly, Flirt, Comic relief 
Appearance
Body type:
Athletic 
Height:
5'4" - 5'7" (161 - 170cm) 
Eyes:
Hazel 
Hair:
Brown 
Recent activity
User
Ynot and MarisaB are now friends.
User
MarisaB and safesailor are now friends.
User
MarisaB added 7 pictures to the album My Adventures:
User
MarisaB has just signed up. Say hello!