SailAway2020

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
57
Location:
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

Hello, I am a 50 plus guy who loves sailing. Even so much that i want to leave in 2020 for indefinite time to sail the oceans of the world in a leisurely way. My basic plan is to start with a round of GB and after that set course south, stay in warmer climates. I would like to circumnavigate Africa and then set a course for Asia. Probably all this will take at least 2 or 3 years. Plans after that wil be made later. Of course, if I could find my sail-soulmate here, plans could be changed, except the departure in the summer of 2020. Will you be joining me as my soulmate, or just as a sail lover, wishing to sail part of the way?

What more you should know about me? Well, I'm an open minded, free spirit, have 3 kids of whom 2 have their own life all ok, and one getting there, living with her mom.
I am polamourous (consensual non-monogamy) for some years now, but have not found my muse, my mermaid, my counterpart in sailing the seas. I would so much like to meet that open hearted, loving, caring and adventurous woman that matches with me on this adventure, my dream.

Sailing Experience:

I've been sailing almost all my life, fresh water first, then later sea/ocean. I've not made any ocean crossing yet, longest was a 6 day crossing to the Canary Islands. I've got my own Bavaria 40/3 since 2018, and in the process of equipping it for the live-aboard, ocean cruising life style.
I sailed in the Med, Canaries and western Europe up to UK east coast. Plenty of other territories to discover.

Sailing Qualifications:

Licence for VHF, CWO-3 level ocean sailing (compare to RYA coastal), but with enough experience and kmowledge for Ocean cruising all over.
First Aid knowledge. Good handyman, interior builder.

Nautical Miles Logged:
did not keep track, so far 5000 plus
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
unemployed, preparing for take off
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Home body, Social butterfly, Flirt 
Appearance
Body type:
Average 
Height:
5'8" - 5'11" (171 - 180cm) 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
Distant Memory! 
Recent activity
User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

Hi all, I read articles and blogs of sailors being forced in a lockdown (feels like imprisonment to some I heard) on their boats either in port or at anchor. I'm fortunate to live in The Netherlands where we had an "intelligent lockdown" so at least it was not forbidden to go outside,…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

I'll be jealous of anyone who is in an area where sailing/travelling is still possible. Over here, in The Netherlands, ports are closed to leisure cruising, staying overnight at anchor is not even allowed. The surrounding countries are being strict in the same way. So despite the beautiful weat…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

Hi all, in Jue 2020 i will start with my trip/new lifestyle to sail the oceans of the world. I'll start in Rotterdam (Netherlands), go anti-clockwise around the UK and then go south to sail around Africa and further to Asia. I'll let you know details/legs later, for now if you have questio…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

The month of November is really end of season here in Holland and time for changes, repairs etc and covering it up for the winter. I was away 2 weeks for a holiday in Africa (not sailing), and now back home. The sailmaker is almost finished with my new sprayhood, hope to see the result tomorrow. The…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

After the big job of mounting the hydrovane and testing it in june, i did not sit still. Working fulltime gives me too little sailing time, but i feel comforted that next year i will start my trip fulltime sailing anyway, so i tell myself to be patient :-) I'm also in contact with a lovely woma…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

I had the Hydrovane installed in May, nicely in time for a testrun and for my first week of sailing, planned in mid june. The vane works really nice and easy. I had to install it off-center due to the swim stairs in the middle, but the rudder is long enough to steer also sailing with a 30-35 degrees…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

I managed to start a bit with the hydrovane installation steps. First had to do is decide where to place it. Decided Port side will have most space for it, so i had to reinforce the polyester hull (transom) at the location of the bottom bracket. Not easily accessibe and terribly ventilated there, bu…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

Sooner than anticipated UPS delivered my Hydrovane. In only 3 days from Vancouver to Rotterdam. This is a fast world, a world i like to escape when i cast off next year. Slow down, live with the tides. So now I have these 4 boxes in my livingroom and I'm reading the manual. It will be an advent…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

After lengthy deliberation and hestation I finally took the definite steps to order a Hydrovane wind steering assembly. Awfully pricy, but very much worth it once i set sail. next year. There is an endless list of jobs and purchases still to do, but I guess anyone who is in the process of preparing…

User
SailAway2020 posted a new blog:

What to blog here ... To start with, within 2 weeks i had a nice reply of a lovely woman, wishing to get to know echother better. This did nogt last long though, as she googled on what "polyamory" actually is. Yes, that is how you are if you think it is possible to have a love-heart-relati…

User
SailAway2020 added 11 pictures to the album My boat, Bavaria 40/3, "Sway":
User
SailAway2020 added 13 pictures to the album Sailing:
User
SailAway2020 has just signed up. Say hello!