Solitaire

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
61
Location:
Sète, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

Profile last updated: 14/09/2020

I'm British, seeking female friendship and companionship. I live in Portsmouth, UK and this year have sailed up the west coast of Italy into France, and where I intend to winter my boat.

I have been on an extended sabbatical holiday and sailing in the Mediterranean Sea. This is planned to be my final year in the Mediterranean before sailing home in 2021 and hoped to reach Portugal. Delayed start and potential Covid restrictions forced a prudent stop in France.

Previously, I worked in the Aerospace and Space Industry. I am single and not in a relationship. I have two adult children in their twenties.

I am an open person, kind, gentle, easy going, considerate, polite, have a good sense of humour and a zest for life. I enjoy the company of others. Of course, having some physical attraction is nice, but this is not essential, especially so if that person has a great personality and is full of enthusiasm.

In this regard, I am seeking a similar person. A female full of life, who loves to travel, to seek adventure and someone who gets as much enjoyment from planning a journey, as they actually do achieving it. A person who enjoys going "off piste" and always up for new places. A person not daunted by the realities and the challenges of living aboard a small yacht. For example, we do not carry huge amounts of fresh water, so if you are seeking two hot water showers a day, restaurant meals ashore every night, this boat and this journey is not for you...!

A female who enjoys being close to another and also being close to nature. A person seeking a longer duration journey, not a two week holiday in the sun. Someone who is happy to live on a tight budget. Above all, someone who likes to share and do their bit also. A person able to take the rough times with the smooth, because this is true sailing, and able stick with the jointly agreed program. A person more interested in the people they are with, rather than just the boat he has to offer.

My boating style? Well I'm quite chilled, egalitarian and I like to make boating decisions as a team. To me it does not matter how experienced you are or not, novices are very welcome! Two brains are always better than just one. I can sail the boat single handed, so you can take as much time as you like to get up to speed. There is much more to boating, than just sailing, for example, living in a more confined space and making do with what we have is just as important. I do not expect anyone to do anything that I cannot do myself. We will work together as a team. Mutual respect is essential.

Polite Request. I am a genuine person, and only wish to communicate with those who hold similar values. I'm looking to make new friendships through shared sailing interests, experiences, love for the sea. As a man, female friendship does not necessarily mean sex. I am not interested in time wasters. I cannot PAY for your trip, you must be able to reasonably fund yourself. Whilst I pay for my yacht's maintenance, our journey expenses are equally shared. Happy Sailing. :-)
.

Sailing Experience:

Been sailing since I was young and starting with dinghies, but only took sailing seriously with yachts in my early 30's. Now been sailing yachts for thirty years and have approximately +/- 40,000nm logged. Now an owner of a 10m / 33ft specialist lift keel monohull yacht. My sailing has been mainly UK South Coast / English Channel based. I have done lots of racing too (Cowes Week etc) both inshore and offshore. But the last 10 years my focus has been on longer distance cruising.

My dream has always been to sail & explore the Mediterranean Sea and do Scandinavia and the Baltic Sea. Still to do the Baltic, but have completed 3 seasons of on a planned 4-season voyage of Med discovery. So far, my 9900nm Med journey has been sailed approximately 50% single-handed and 50% with crew (friends etc.).

I divide my year into roughly two, 6-months winter at home in Portsmouth and 6-months summer sailing away. My yacht is currently based in Southern France having been in Southern Italy for three winters. Having sailed into the Med in 2017 and completing the Aegean and Adriatic Seas in 2018 & 2019, my plan this year, 2020, was to explore of the Western Med.

Sailing Qualifications:

RYA Yachtmaster Offshore.
I own a Parker 325 Lift Keel.

Nautical Miles Logged:
+/- 40,000 nm
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Sabbatical Leave - May choose to go back to work for short assignments in the future.
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Quit 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
The life of the party, Better in small groups 
Appearance
Body type:
Average 
Height:
6'0" - 6'3" (181 - 190cm) 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
Gray/Silver 
Recent activity
User
Solitaire and QueenDee are now friends.
User
Solitaire and kikas1969 are now friends.
User
Solitaire and dilek34b are now friends.
User
Solitaire uploaded a new profile picture:
User
User
Solitaire and piscean are now friends.
User
Solitaire and KateW are now friends.
User
Solitaire and SURREYSAILOR are now friends.
User
Danni and Solitaire are now friends.
User
Solitaire and amyw are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Joylie are now friends.
User
Solitaire and smileyface are now friends.
User
Solitaire and MissEmily are now friends.
User
Solitaire and pennyc are now friends.
User
Solitaire and SpringTides are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Sarah are now friends.
User
Solitaire and PNWroots are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Kerisam are now friends.
User
Solitaire and XXXX are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Sunfizz are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Asha are now friends.
User
Solitaire and passionateaboutsailing are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Fauvettebrunette are now friends.
User
Captaingayla13 and Solitaire are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Heather88 are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Tara are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Smile are now friends.
User
Solitaire and Sarahjane are now friends.
User
Solitaire has just signed up. Say hello!