azores

Profile Information
Gender:
Woman 
Age:
69
Location:
Greenwich, London, United Kingdom
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

After not being able to get anywhere near a boat in 2020 I am quite desperate to get back on the water as soon as it is allowed and would be interested in any opportunities to crew. Dating could be fun but is by no means essential. I'm fit, energetic and reasonably useful on a boat, I think, and quite good at rustling up meals in difficult conditions, but like many here what I really love are waterside fish restaurants with a good glass of chilled white wine on a warm summer evening. At the moment lockdown means that sailing looks to be limited to UK waters but once we are allowed to travel, I would like to go further afield, posssibly a lot further afield, the Carribean or South East Asia, Australia. Lockdown has made me incredibly concious of all the places I have not yet visited - but also keen to get back to old favourites. I have a flat on the Pagasetic Gulf that's near Volos which is sort of half way between Athens and Thessaloniki, so anybody planning a Greek trip, I'd like to hear from you. Apart from sailing, my other interests include swimming in the sea, provided it is not too cold - I can cope with anything above 15C that comes from my childhood. When the water reached 60F in the unheated pool at my school we were forced in during the summer term, however cold the day. Now I particulalry love snorkelling in warm clear water. I read a lot, paint and did the Couch to 5 k during lockdown so go for what I call running but is actually a rather slow jog. So although I can keep it up for the required 30 minutes, I certainly don't reach 5k in that time.
I had a very varied career - financial journalist, civil servant and business consultant but am now officially retired but took an art MA four years ago and so do some work as an artist. I have three grown up children and five grandchildren.

Sailing Experience:

I gained Day Skipper in Gibraltar but don't really consider myself that standard as I'm out of practice. I once skippered a boat through the Ionian islands on a flotilla holiday. My companion at the time was a total novice and not a quick learner! It all went reasonably well but I did depend on having the lead boat people ready to catch ropes when we came into port.

Sailing Qualifications:

Day Skipper

Nautical Miles Logged:
No idea - I can't find my log book. It went missing in a house move but could well turn up as some things are still in store. The most recent trip, I remember was 200miles
Home and family
Marital status:
Widowed 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Used to do sensible things - but am now an artist
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Often 
Social Setting:
Better in small groups 
Appearance
Body type:
Slim 
Height:
5'4" - 5'7" (161 - 170cm) 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
Blonde 
Recent activity
User
azores and stevereeve are now friends.
User
azores and Towsea are now friends.
User
azores and shedloads are now friends.
User
azores uploaded a new profile picture:
User
User
azores and Summerwine are now friends.
User
azores and uncinogb are now friends.
User
azores and Oceanlord8 are now friends.
User
azores and danielh are now friends.