simong

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
60
Location:
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

Photographer, Curator, Artist. Well traveled and considering buying a sailboat for a more extended adventure. Looking for more experience on the water and if I meet someone with similar goals, then all the better.
It is likely that I have a well functioning corpus collosum...so I’ve been told. Educated as an engineer, but spent my life as a independent visual storyteller through photojournalism, annual reports, advertising, and humorous illustration photography. I love to build stuff and fix stuff and have always been a curious soul. I also love meeting people. My home made rosemary bread is always a hit with the neighbors.
Worked on a couple of book projects over the years and can pretty much work anywhere these days.
Love to be outdoors. Still a cyclist...hiker...walker...but not the Triathlete I used to be in my 40’s and early 50’s. Give me a guitar and I’ll play you a little classical on it. Give me some drums and put your earplugs in.
Was born in London, England and still have roots there, but have spent most of my life in the US. Maintaining dual citizenship. It was great traveling in Europe prior to Brexit!

Sailing Experience:

Sailed most of my life, but only once or twice a year. Learned on small boats, but have sailed up to 48 foot Beneteau with crew members. Not enough time on the water, so looking to get that experience sailing more. Had my honeymoon in 1989 at the Bitter End Yacht club and caught the bug...the ex-wife sadly didn’t. Have turtled a Sunfish...and ran aground a friends keelboat off of Panama City back in college...before depth finders. Have raced a bit...won a bit...lost more. Spent a week sailing...or sadly motoring a lot...on the outer banks of NC on a Bristol 32... caught in a northeaster and yes...discovered seasickness, but came back for more. Still trying to learn how to use my Sextant a friend gave me, but it was pulled from a Russian military ship...and isn’t small. Have been looking at boats to buy for a several years, but haven’t pulled the trigger. Obtained my diving certification in 2017...need more time doing that too.

Sailing Qualifications:

ASA 101-105 courses. Comfortable skippering small keelboats with a crew member...especially someone that has similar experience. Looking to expand my horizons with someone with similar to more experience. Certification doesn’t mean anything without time on the water, and I am looking for possible compatriot in that capacity.

Nautical Miles Logged:
Not nearly enough to log.
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Photographer.
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Social butterfly, Side kick, Comic relief 
Appearance
Body type:
Slim 
Height:
6'0" - 6'3" (181 - 190cm) 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
Blonde 
Recent activity
User
1stmate4uCaptain and simong are now friends.
User
simong added 3 pictures to the album Misc.:
User
simong added 5 pictures to the album Misc.:
User
simong has just signed up. Say hello!