MazuPete

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
65
Location:
Danville, California, United States
Here for:
Dating, Friendship, Crew 
About Me:

I’ve spent most of my life on the water, the sea has been my calling since my first sailing trip to the South Pacific when I was a teenager. After graduating from Cal Maritime Academy, I became a deep sea skipper moving the world’s cargo and goods around the oceans. Later in my career I proudly served as a San Francisco Bar Pilot. After retiring four years ago, I have been sailing my Outbound 46, the boat of my dreams, in British Columbia, the West Coast and now the Sea of Cortez. When I am not sailing, I am at my home in the SF Bay Area, enjoying the mountain bike trails, hiking, surfing, and paddling. I like to spend roughly half my time on water and the other half enjoying my two grown kids and now two young grandsons, friends and travel. I’m tired of sailing singlehanded and want to share this adventure with a long term partner.

Sailing Experience:

I come from a professional mariner background, and am also a lifelong small boat sailor. I still have my first boat from age 12. I sailed as crew at 18yrs from San Francisco to the South Pacific on a 45’ wooden ketch for six months prior to entering the California Maritime Academy. I had a 26’ Cheoy Lee for 17yrs, then a 42’ Beneteau 411 for 14yrs and then my Outbound 46 which i have had now for 5 years. Santa Cruz was home for those boats with numerous trips out in all conditions on Monterey Bay following marine life.
Professionally, I worked supply boats in the Gulf of Mexico and East Coast, sailed tankers to and from Alaska for 7yrs. Then 10yrs on container ships for American President Lines sailing the last 5yrs as Master on six different ships. Crossed the Pacific Ocean so many times that I don’t have any idea. In 1995 I trained for as a pilot for the San Francisco Bar Pilots, becoming a full pilot in a1998. I piloted over 3800 ships during my 22yrs there. The highlight sailing the 289’ Maltese Falcon in from sea through the Golden Gate Bridge on her maiden call to San Francisco.
After retiring I have sailed British Columbia, west coast of Vancouver Island, the US west coast to Baja and now the Sea of Cortez.

Sailing Qualifications:

I have a current Unlimited Masters License any vessel any gross tons upon any ocean.

Nautical Miles Logged:
Just pulled out a calculator. Surprisingly over 1,000,000,000 NM.
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Retired
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Social butterfly, Better in small groups 
Appearance
Body type:
Athletic 
Height:
5'8" - 5'11" (171 - 180cm) 
Eyes:
Hazel 
Hair:
Brown 
Recent activity
User
tinydancer624 and MazuPete are now friends.
User
MazuPete added 10 pictures to the album SOC:
User
MazuPete has just signed up. Say hello!