KneadingWater

Profile Information
Gender:
Man 
Age:
59
Location:
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Here for:
Dating 
About Me:

I am the middle of three boys, from two parents, all still alive and married except me <grin> (but, I am still alive). Divorced 5 years, and done with my first transitional relationship. I'll still have anchoring responsibilities in MI for a bit, but I am expecting to sell business on July 9. I intend to get a more substantial boat as soon as I find one that suits me (asap!). Likely keeping the boat in Chesapeake Bay (daughter in VA), and explore the East Coast for 6 - 12 months, then go South to the Caribbean and explore those islands; and beyond so long as it is a fun adventure.

My dream would be to find a soulmate (LOL) to learn this new vessel with and become more confident sailing it. I'd settle for an intelligent, adventurous, stable, financially independent, loving, and compatible woman.

I am on this matching site and one other (as of June 23) and very new at this process. And I am forced to choose between fit and fat. So as to not mislead, while I can still run 6 miles, it is not pretty.

I guess I should include some other adjectives to describe me: smart, fun, romantic, pragmatic, adventurous, funny, irreverent, too compassionate, cynically optimistic, pragmatic, fiscally conservative, socially liberal, inventive & resourceful, independent , problem solver, calm, laid back, contemplative, organized and too thorough. In medicine, I have learned to be skeptical of much of what I think I know; but I have also learned that I have good instincts. I prefer to work out problems and enjoy finding solutions with a partner. I'd like to think that if we all had the same history, information, and wisdom, that we would all come to the same conclusions.

While I will choose to listen to cello, guitar and piano, favorite songs/singers include bouncy songs like Barbie girl, Madona, and Gaga (might as well get that out there so you can swipe whichever way is bad <grin>).

Favorite movies include August Rush, Silverado, Die Hard, and Cool Hand Luke (not that watch any movies more than once, but just to give you a feel of the emotions that touch my soul). Emotionally, I want to ride the white horse and save the princess (and/or the world). Realistically, I am happy to have the princess save me.

Sailing Experience:

I am a relative young <grin> sailor.
I have been paddling (and sailing) sea kayaks, mostly in long distance (300M) races around MI and the Gulf Coast of FL since 1999.
I started sailing in to 2011 (I broke my wrist and sailed a 19' Hobie IA (Br. Columbia, and Lake Superior).
I have been sailing traditional sail boats since 2016.
I was certified on an 45' Morgan Ketch during a 7d sail down the Gulf Coast of Fl.

I own an 18' SandPiper, s/v Erige (a buddy died, I bought it from his widow) and I have sailed this on Lakes Erie & Huron, and the FL Gulf Coast.

Additionally, I have skippered a Contessa '26, a Catalina '30, an Island Packet 37, and Wauquiez '41, and the Morgan '45 (above).

I don't want to oversell, and I consider myself a slow learner; however I have sailed or paddled the length of all the Great Lakes, the Soo Locks, the Welland Canal; as well as the Atlantic coast from Plymouth Rock to LaGuardia Airport (literally). I chartered the IP37 in WA and sailed (to a meeting) on Vancouver Island. I raced the SandPiper around cape sable at the same time a 21' Sea Pearl skipper was airlifted due to conditions. Dumbest thing: with two buddies, all of us open water kayak instructors (sheesh!) did a 10M crossing, in November, in a Gale, with 9' avg waves to S. Manitou Island in Lake MI.

I am not seriously competitive. In paddling, as in sailing, we talk of racers and cruisers. When 'racing' I have always labeled myself a '"tourist".

There is one problem with going from paddling to sailing; I still want to explore rock gardens and the shore line. I want to go where it is interesting :)

Sailing Qualifications:

2016: ASA 101, 103, 104, 105, and 106. Not that certifications mean much.

I know wind, water, waves, and basic navigation; and I have reasonable instincts.

Generally, I am conservative regarding safety, by my standards. But there is that adventurous part of me (rocks <grin>?)
I have towed multiple disable vessels while paddling (including a convicted felon, and the USCG Auxiliary--made the papers).

However, I have tons to learn about large sail boats and diesel mechanics.

Nautical Miles Logged:
20,000 (Not to oversell my experience, 15K of these miles were in the seat of a sea kayak).
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have Children:
Yes - flown the nest 
Occupation:
Veterinarian, feline specialist
Lifestyle
Smoking:
Never 
Drinking:
Socially 
Social Setting:
Social butterfly, Side kick, Comic relief 
Appearance
Body type:
Athletic 
Height:
6'0" - 6'3" (181 - 190cm) 
Eyes:
Hazel 
Hair:
Gray/Silver 
Recent activity
User
KneadingWater and Lauri are now friends.
User
KneadingWater and Mary.S are now friends.
User
Kathy and KneadingWater are now friends.
User
KneadingWater and OceanTREK57 are now friends.
User
KneadingWater added 19 pictures to the album Assorted photos:
User
KneadingWater and Piratewench4u are now friends.
User
KneadingWater and LovesToSailRI are now friends.